Honorary doctorate awarded to Mariano Sanz

The Osteology Foundation congratulates its President, Professor Mariano Sanz, on an honorary doctorate from the University of Gothenburg, which he received for his longstanding collaboration with researchers at Sahlgrenska Academy.


In May 2015 the Sahlgrenska Academy at the University of Gothenburg announced that they awarded an honorary doctorate to Mariano Sanz, Professor of Periodontology and Dean of the Faculty of Odontology at University Complutense of Madrid, Spain, and president of the Osteology Foundation. The honorary doctorate was now conferred in a ceremony on 16 October 2015.

"He has published more than 200 scientific articles and book chapters and is one of the most popular international lecturers on odontology," Sahlgrenska Academy said in their official announcement. "His longstanding collaboration with researchers at Sahlgrenska Academy had a major impact on advances in knowledge about healing processes after tooth extraction."

Honorary doctorates from Sahlgrenska Academy are awarded to those who have played a key role in research or education at the academy or who have otherwise promoted progress in the fields that it addresses.

Together with Mariano Sanz, two other researchers were awarded: Professor Sharon Fonn from the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa, for a project that supports postgraduate studies in southern Africa and affords faculty members from Sahlgrenska Academy a prominent role, and Professor Salim Yusuf, from McMaster University, Ontario, Canada, for his contributions to Swedish research, particularly in connection with a number of large studies concerning cardiovascular disease in low and middle income countries.




Photos: Johan Wingborg, University Gothenburg, Sahlgrenska Academy